NYFW Always Looked Like NSFW To Me . . .

So, I hear it’s New York Fashion Week.  Guess I ought to do a post on it then!

First off, I must complain about the amount of websites that cover NYFW that have included video on their site.  I am on mobile broadband, and so only have a certain amount of data to use.  I don’t need all these websites auto-playing video with no ‘stop’ button so my data gets thrashed!  AGH!

I was really disappointed that I couldn’t write a whole blog post about my love for Issey Miyake.  He did not attend NYFW, does he usually?  I don’t know.  Also, no mention of Yohji Yamamoto.  No idea if he attends either, but they are the people I like.  Disappointment galore.

As a fan of anythingvaguelyFar Eastern, I automatically go to Vera Wang.  I saw her wedding dresses for this season, and that’s the first time I was properly impressed by a wedding dress.  I’ve gone ‘wow’ but never really ‘want’.  Except for the one I saw when I was about 13, and the one in House of Fraser that I tried on.  That was my first experience of ‘wedding sizing’.  Ugh.

Spring 2012 didn’t blow me away.  I did like the deep blue colour and sheer fabrics.  Meh.  When I saw the Fall 2012 collection, I was excited to see bright/burnt orange was in for winter.  Much better than blues, purples, christmas red and the usual stuff.  It was very clear, however, that she was not to be my favourite designer of the week.

I saw Anna Sui also used blue and orange for Fall.  Nice, especially when teamed with pink tights.  Her Spring collection included a lot of white.

Lucy would approve . . .

I am a big fan of No Doubt, and in turn, Gwen Stefani.  Two of the Harajuku Lovers perfume range are the only perfumes I own, and I only bought them because she made them.  So finding L.A.M.B. on the bill was exciting!

I find her clothing practical.  They’re nice, but not stunning.  I’d wear them.  She seems to have done better with her Fall range, offering up this lovely, oversized houndstooth-print number, that you could imagine her wearing back in the day of ‘Don’t Speak’ . . .

Tragic Kingdom

Here is my mini gallery of ‘interesting’ for Spring 2012.

Leave a Reply

