A Bad Lesson On Fashion

I recently did a trade with my Twitter friend @sirenmoonbee.  She makes the most twee little earrings, with bows on them!  As part of this trade, I also requested two steampunk clock part rings, on for me, and one for W, my other half.  He said he liked Steampunk, but it wasn’t a trend he would ‘get in on’.  I went ahead and got him one anyway.  He went ‘umm’ and ‘ahh’ when I offered it to him, then put it on.  And wore it out.  All the way round Asda and back home again.  When he got home, we both decided they were ‘dress rings’, or as I call these particular items of clothing or accessories ‘posing wear’.  For going to gigs and stuff, those days when you need to make an impression, or ‘one up’ someone.  I always try that at gigs.  Best dressed band groupie is my award.  Got to be, I am the vocalist’s girlfriend, after all.

He’s going to use his ring in their next photoshoot.  I, however, am going to use it as part of this lesson.  A lesson on Steampunk.  It’s not going to be much  of a lesson, as I don’t know all that much about it, so it’ll be a lesson for both of us, I suppose.

I have a few friends who are into Steampunk.  They like wearing goggles and stuff.  Victorian clothing.  Most of them are geeks.  Not the book loving type, but the I – live – my – life – through – Warcraft type of geek.  Steampunk reapplies the use of brass, leather and iron and puts them in places they probably shouldn’t belong.  Metal keys on keyboards.  Cogs and things instead of hinges.  Or just for decoration.  Think of steam carriages, and the workings inside the engine.  That’s how it all looks.  It’s all about history.  It’s really an extension on the retro fashion that is so in at the moment, except instead of going back to the Sixties, or the Thirties, go back to the Victorian times.  Add some Around The world in Eighty Days, a bit of Jules Verne, and a monocle, lots and lots of polished brass.

That was a rubbish lesson.  Here’s a picture of the ring I got.  Please excuse my nail varnish.

George.

Leave a Reply

