We Asked . . . Georgina Gregory

Gearing up for tomorrow morning’s launch of our new regular feature, ‘We Asked . . .’, here are the same questions answered by Lucy yesterday, that everyone will receive, answered by the other co – author, George!

1.   Tell me a little about yourself and your business.

My name is George and I am 24.  I was born in Shrewsbury, raised in Shifnal and currently living in Wolverhampton.  I am still a country girl at heart, I miss the hour long waits for your next bus or train, sitting on a wall, knowing all your neighbours . . . sometimes.  My business is called Molière Design, named after the stage name for Jean – Baptiste Poquelin.  I like sugar and pizza, and have a completely unhealthy addiction to energy drinks.

 

2.   When did you realise you wanted to do the job you were doing?  How did it all start?

I think I probably realised sometime between 14 and 16 years of age, when I was doing my GCSE’s.  I’ve always sewn, done cross stitch and knitted, as my mother was very old school, and she went to an all – girl’s school in Telford that still taught the ‘men work, women cook’ ethic.  However, when I was doing my GCSE project, I found doing what I wanted, and not what somebody ELSE wanted me to do really helped my interest in the subject.  After all, who wants to make a cushion?

 

3.   How long have you worked in the industry?

My business has been running for nearly a year.  I haven’t worked anywhere else in the fashion industry.  Not even Primark.

 

4.   What is YOUR personal style?

My personal style is a combination of things.  Most of my clothes are picked up in charity shops or other secondhand stores.  I’m not a fan of vintage though.  As a teenager I identified with many of the music subcultures, and that has carried on.  I mix gothic with skate fashion, rocker and  grunge, and high street fashion.  My hair currently reflects my love of Eighties hair metal, I have a bit of a mullet . . .  I also quite like military trends, though when I need new military clothing, I tend to go to Commando on Darlington Street, Wolverhampton, where they sell genuine new and used British army supplies.

 

5.   Who are some of your favourite designers, both professionally and personally?

I don’t really follow designers in the way other people seem to.  I like individual pieces, like white Louis Vuitton bags, but I rarely dream of buying £2000 dresses.  I don’t wear dresses!  My favourite all round designer though would probably have to be Issey Miyake.  I love his life story, his witnessing and survival of the Hiroshima bomb at the age of seven, his ‘Pleats Please’ collection, and the fact he is the designer of Steve Job’s turtlenecks!  I prefer indie designers though, like Red Mutha (I own two pieces) and Masato’s pre – 2012 collection.  I also like Jean – Paul Gaultier for his work on Eurotrash and Fifth Element.  Professionally, if I could work for anyone, i’d work for Yohji Yamamoto.

Though not a designer, I do like how Helena Bonham – Carter is styled.  I wouldn’t mind having her wardrobe.

 

6.   What/where are your favourite stores and websites to shop?

I love Red Mutha in Brighton, they make great stuff and they’re great people too.  SoHo is Shrewsbury is well worth a look, and Rowfers and Penny Farthing in Wolverhampton.  If I go up to Birmingham, I HAVE to go into Oasis market, which is like a concession stall market of independent shops and designers, it’s great for tie dye and gothic styling.  The best shops have to be the goldmine of secondhand shops we have around Wolverhampton though.  Some days, you find nothing, and on others, you could easily spend £100.  I quite like JList and JBox for websites to buy fun stuff and accessories, although it should be noted, these are NSFW!

 

7.   If you could pick any era to live in, for the fashion, which would it be and why?

I would probably go to pre – war Japan and live as a Geisha.  I would love a kimono . . . and that hair . . . alternatively, i’d be a high class Victorian.

 

8.   Do you consider yourself an artist?

I consider myself a crafter, a seamstress, or a dressmaker.  I am not an artist in the paint way, and I do not create textile art, my drawings are primitive, therefore I am not an artist in that sense.  I am a musical artist though!

 

9.   What advice do you have for people aspiring to work in your field?

Never, EVER give up and never lose faith.  Losing faith in yourself leads to not being bothered.  And if you’re not bothered, you’re just kidding yourself along.

 

10.   Where can readers find out more about you and your work, and if you sell products, where can people buy them?

Well, there’s on here, where I do talk quite a lot, and then there’s http://www.molieredesign.com and my Etsy shop MoliereDesignStudio, which needs a complete overhaul to be honest.  I also have a Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/molieredesign.  Through any of these, you can find contact details.

 

Now some fun quick questions!

 

What was your first ever job?

My first job was as a cleaner in a pub, but I only lasted one day, and I didn’t get paid because I walked out.  First paid job was as a lighting technician at the Civic Halls.

 

What is your favourite ice cream?

Toffee / butterscotch.

 

Pepsi, Coke or Dr Pepper?

Cherry Coke.  Then Dr Pepper.  Then Pepsi Max.

Leave a Reply

