We Asked . . . Lucy Gittins

To kick off our new feature, called ‘We Asked . . .’, Lucy is here, answering the questions we will pose every week to a variety of designers, illustrators, other bloggers, photographers, make up artists and generally ANYONE in the fashion industry we can find to agree to answering the questions!

We find standard interviews a tad boring sometimes, so when you get to the bottom, you’ll find some fun, slightly more unusual questions . . .

1.   Tell me a little about yourself and your business.

I am a 23 year old woman who lives in Shrewsbury, i’ve just come back from my final year at University, and have recently just finished unpacking the final bag of shoes at my Grandma’s house, where I live.  My business project that will take off the ground in the up and coming future will be cross stitch charts that are dynamic, fun and beautiful.  I will be using some of my University designs that I never took forward, like the repeat patterns, and i shall also make new repeat & individual pattern works of mine.

I also co – write WinsAndWounds!

2.   When did you realise you wanted to do the job you were doing?  How did it all start?

I first realised I wanted to do this in my textiles class in year 7 with my fantastic tutor Miss Walsh.  My project idea was to make a dress based on Disney’s little mermaid, I still have the dress and it got my first ever A*!!!  I was so happy, no one could take that smile from my face.  The embroidery part of the dress launched my addiction to cross – stitch, and I got my very first magazine in February 2003 and stitched my first piece, which was an A3 flower fairy.  That’s where my idea started, i’ve even got diary entries to prove it!

3.   How long have you worked in the industry?

Not very long professionally, but I had work experience in the summer of 2008 in one of the high street shops in Shrewsbury called Hunkydory, selling handbags.

4.   What is YOUR personal style?

My personal style is PRINT PRINT PRINT.  My outfit of each day will be a single or repetitive print dress in 50’s shift style, nipped in at the waist and flaring out, with printed tights to add more diversity.  Final touches are shoes and a bag, in pastel shades of two of the bolder colours from the dress and tights.

5.   Who are some of your favourite designers, both professionally and personally?

My favorite designers are Matthew Williamson and his Butterfly collection at Debenhams.  In 2005, whilst in Stockport, I got a bag from his Spring collection for my prom and it was my first designer high street piece.  I also adore Mary Katrantzou,the second I saw her lampshade dress in my copy of Elle I searched Shrewsbury high street and Birmingham’s Bull Ring shopping centre for a high street counterpart, and River Island came up trumps.  I also like Ted Baker for his bags.  One day I aim to own a Chanel and Louis Vuitton bag. 

6.   What/where are your favourite stores and websites to shop?

My favorite shops to go are Miss Selfridge and Oasis, they never let me down for gorgeous floral prints, and Red Herring at Debenhams for abstract printed pieces.  Additionally, River Island and New Look for heels, Marks and Spencer also have some cool heels, you just gotta look past all the slippers and flats.  I like Accessorize for big weekend bags, and River Island for shoulder/hand held bags.  And the website of Dorothy Perkins. 

7.   If you could pick any era to live in, for the fashion, which would it be and why?

The 1920’s for the Elsa Schiaparelli pieces and the 1950′ s for the pearls and peplums.  My body is a pear shape, I have love handles and the Fifties embrace that.  The dresses in my current wardrobe are my body’s most complementing silhouette.

8.   Do you consider yourself an artist?

I definitely do consider myself an artist, I have the Honours degree and Diploma in addition to my personal sketchbooks for evidence.

9.   What advice do you have for people aspiring to work in your field?

Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do what you dream of, stand your ground and SHOW THEM!

10.   Where can readers find out more about you and your work, and if you sell products, where can people buy them?

My Facebook page has a number of University work images, participating in New Designers gave me free access to Arts Thread, so the Powerpoint of my work is showcased on there.  By emailing me at lrgittins@gmail.com I can send you my business card and more copywritten work. 

Now some fun quick questions!

What was your first ever job?

My first ever job was when I was 17, being a dinner lady for my sister’s friend’s primary school, employed by Tameside Council.

What is your favourite ice cream?

Ben and Jerry’s No Hesitation.

Pepsi, Coke or Dr Pepper?

None, I like dandelion and burdock.

Leave a Reply

