2013 Trend Guide – Lucy

Whilst indulging in my copy of Elle magazine and looking at all the 2013 trend previews, two caught my eye.  The first was a section explaining that this year was a print extravaganza, so the 2013 fashion antidote is simple chic focussing on cut and simple details.  Put your high street look alike Mary Katrantzou dress away in a protective costume cover, and focus on plain simple chic pieces i.e. suits from Next, Warehouse and Dorothy Perkins with accessories from Zara and Whistles, not NDubz inspired bling from New Look and Rihanna diva earrings from TopShop.

Next it focused on film inspired coming soon to a shopping centre /Asos near you, and my fave is The Great Gatsby trend, glamour splendor.  For this, simply keep your Christmas outfits, sequin dresses, clutches and metallic heels, and maybe nip to River Island or Forever21 if you want to do a Marilyn punk star look.  A flapper dress with leather jacket, instead of the usual strictly ballroom flapper dress with woollen tweed coat. 

Addtionally, after looking at all the gorgeous dresses of the year, I turned to the Elle front cover star dresses, from Gaga and McQueen in January, to Diaz and Chanel this December.  My favorite has to be JessieJ in Giles Deacon, the dress IS to me splendor and simply cut, chic.  To me this is the only dress I would POSSIBLY PERHAPS wear with … dare I type it … flats.  I’ll definitely try to find a high street twin to this dress.

I love Christmas, because we all know the sales are coming closer and closer, like the Daleks from Doctor Who coming up the stairs.

Happy Christmas everyone!

Lucy xx

Leave a Reply

