Mainstream Fashion of 2012 – A Review – George

I was scanning my news app today for interesting and amusing articles in the fashion world (I do indeed have a tab for fashion), and I came across this article from The Guardian –

Worst Ideas of 2012 – The Onesie

I read it, as you would.  Whilst sitting here in MY onesie.  So what’s so bad about the onesie?  The article seems to focus on people wearing it outside.  Now, W has seen people wearing them round Asda and town, and has come home and commented on it.  I, however, have only seen students come from halls (right next to Asda) and then go back home.

Who cares if you wear it out?  Yeah, you look like a complete moron, but most people do when they wear their inside clothes outside.  Though they do double up as great fancy dress costumes, as Lucy and I saw when we had our early Christmas in Wetherspoons.

Ugg boots are still in fashion.  I don’t really like them.  What are they good for?  When we had a terrible downpour and I walked to the bus stop for the coach to pick us up for work, half the girls were wearing Uggs, both real and fake.  For the next 14 hours, including travel and a 12 hour shift on our feet, everyone had soggy shoes.  My shoes (mostly) dried up by the end of the day.  But those in Uggs still had wet watermarks past their ankles.  Plus I had a fake pair once, and my right foot would slide over the sole on the inside edge. Very sore.  And i’m not the only one who has complained of this.

Skinny jeans are still very, very in.  I now own three pairs, in acid green, white denim with black heart print, and stonewash black with white stars.  W doesn’t like them, so I dont actually wear them that much.  But it you can make them work, they can look good.  My biggest grievance is when size 20 women ‘pour’ themselves into them (wait for the backlash…).  The women round here are normal women.   Of course they are.  Some of them are also quote rough, they wear their velour trackies and makeup, badly done in bright colours.  And these type of people should not be allowed to attempt to wear something that takes a bit of effort to wear.  Another issue I have is that shops still don’t have universal sizes, they’re all slightly different.  My George at Asda ones in 12 are slightly baggy.  My Primark ones in 12 are tight all over.  And my non – brand ones, well, they’re not over my thighs yet.  All the same size?  Hmmm… If you say.

Leggings?  LEGGINGS?  Well.  Just no.  They’re good on cold days under jeans, and for doing sport.  Also for wearing with dresses.  And my personal favourite, a pair of 3/4 cargo trousers with clashing leggings.  But don’t just go out in leggings.  One girl I walked behind during Fresher’s week had leggings so small, and so tight, I saw the pattern on her underwear.  True story.

Vintage fashion is BIG BIG BIG.  This is not really something I could comment on though.  It’s just not my scene.  I really don’t like the wartime fashion.  It wasn’t made to be liked, anyway.

And these bloody tacky Christmas jumpers.  Are people wearing them ironically, or do they actually like them now?  My friend even made his own…

On the men’s side, I quite like the Ivy League look.  I’ll leave you with that…

George

Leave a Reply

