Review – Colorsport Diva 30 Day Mascara

This is a review of something i’ve always wanted to do. I dye my hair, and I do it an AWFUL lot. I even get jokes about it at work, and i’ve only been at my workplace since September. But i’ve never done my eyelashes.

The end of my eyelashes fade out to blonde. You can’t really tell the ends are there, but they’re longer than they look. So yesterday, when I went looking for some hair elastics (I was intending to braid my hair again), but found this, I decided to put the unusually overpriced hair bands back and buy the kit.

I was in Bodycare, not Boots, so I paid nowhere near the £8 odd price they are asking. My kit was 3.99. There was a black or a brown option. I chose black, as this is pretty much the only mascara I own, and i’d rather opt for the extreme than the subtle. This product is a 30 day mascara. I don’t expect it to actually last that long (probably based on lab testing etc), but somewhere close would be very good! The box contains 16 applications, which seems like great value, however long it lasts!

I did my skin test…

image

and nothing happened. So today I proceeded with the proper attempt. Yes, I am resting my elbow on a mahoosive bottle of Bacardi. Last night off before I go back to work.

image

This is the contents of the box, also seen in the picture. Pretty much what you’d expect to see. The colour part, the developer part, mixing tray and a stick contraption, and the instructions. I rarely follow the instructions on hair dye any more, relying on my previous experience. But as this is different, i’ll be sticking to them. Closely. I mixed up the recommended amount. I think. It says to add 2cm of the colour to 8 drops of developer. However it’s hard to control the drops that come out. This is the product mid – mix –

image

I tried to take a before picture, so you could see if it worked. Here is the before (i’m also dyeing my hair right now) –

image

It’s a bit blurry, but you can see the colours. And the pink on my forehead. And here is the after –

image

It’s a subtle result. It’s worked a bit, but they’re not black. I might try again tomorrow, and update you with the results. Maybe I didn’t mix it properly. And I think i’ll use a mascara brush to put it on, the stick wasn’t the best thing to use to get the dye on BOTH sides! Despite this, I can see a difference myself, and i’m reasonably happy!

Now for the eyebrows. Those photos showed that they need doing!

Leave a Reply

